A Tale about Difference

March 19, 2009

18 February 2009

 

In my dream, a succession of events brought me to realisation, that I am in an altered state of mind.

 

I was at the vet’s. With a flower?.. With memories about a dog?.. The vet was someone I knew, but couldn’t place. The place was somewhere I knew, but it was cleaner and the furniture got changed about. By saying “furniture” I mostly mean a huge white bath, a sink and a chair. There must have been a table, which was meant to be an operating table, although it looked like an ordinary dining one. I must have addressed him with my problem. He said: – “Operate!”, and I placed the object I came with on the table and walked out into the waiting room. Read the rest of this entry »
New mezzotints

March 19, 2009

"Roses"

"Roses"

I’ve spent the last two weeks at the printmaking studio. Made a few attempts at monoprinting… Too raw. I am not confident enough with this technique yet. But it’ll change, given time. At Brenda’s studio…

However, the time wasn’t wasted at all. I am rather pleased with my 6 new mezzotints.

I asked Martin Maywood to send me random little pieces of the pre-rocked plates. He found 4. It is often very helpful to work within limits of what you have. In this case, the sizes of the plates dictated the choice of the themes and compositions. And it worked well.

The first image is a rose. Or rather two… Read the rest of this entry »

Completed recently

March 19, 2009

My latest portrait commission…

Portrait of Victor Herbert
Portrait of Victor Herbert

A Marina Kim

March 19, 2009

One day I am going to gather somewhere as many Marinas Kim as possible. I am going to announce a Worldwide Symposium of Marinas Kim. And make it a biannual event, where we all would report on our life achievements in front of each other and promote the brand Marina Kim. Imagine!

Russian speaking women I meet here in England are called either Olga, Marina or Lena with some rare exceptions. But let us not overestimate. Let’s say, there is roughly 8% of Russian speaking women with the name Marina. And the surname KIM belongs to about 21% of ethnic Koreans (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_(Korean_name). There are about 500000 Russian speaking Korean people in the world. About 250000 of these are women. 21% of which are under the surname KIM – let’s round it down to 50000. And 8% of those are Marinas. Which leaves us roughly 4000 Marinas Kim. A force to be reckoned with. Read the rest of this entry »